First Impressions

March 10, 2010 — Leave a comment

Now that we’re well into week 2 it’s time to fire up the burners and start the marathon that will be 2010. At our disposal we have a brand new computer lab consisting of a few Mac desktops, 3 plasma screen t.v’s, i-pod accessibility and all the other media functionalities that may come in handy. We have a kitchenette with fridge, giant microwave, dishwasher and potentially a coffee machine….so rumor-has-it. The first thing I need to check on however is whether we have protools and final-cut installed on the computers (these two programs come in pretty handy when it comes to making stuff).

How Will I Utilise This Space?

I’m expecting to treat this year and the facility much like an office environment. While I was working in the office at Portable TV I found that between 9am and lunchtime I could easily conquer 2 well formed blog posts or do a substantial amount of research towards whatever task I had been assigned. I plan on doing exactly that on Mondays and Wednesdays, when there are no classes or lectures. From experience I know that I operate best in the mornings and late at night, but in the afternoon I slow right down.

I foresee that I may also be making use of the 24hr access. My part time job in the city usually finishes at around 11pm and i find that I’m usually energised and keen to get something done at this time. In first year we had 24hr access to Bonza lab and quite often I spent hours up there after midnight hacking out blog posts and planning essays.

Obviously, however, these late nights are likely to clash with my planned early mornings, but I’ll adjust as the workload builds up. Overall I plan to approach this year on a far more professional and dedicated level, as it may be my last ever year of study and I want it to be all that it can be.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

